Salad – Always at Disneyland prices!

I’m hoping someone can comment on the following:

Why is salad so f*cking expensive?!?!

Maybe I just don’t eat enough greens but the last time I checked the price of chicken, beef, pork, and seafood far exceeds the price of lettuce and various greens. Tomatoes and Bell Peppers and Avocados and all that exciting stuff too might be a bit more costly but still within the realm of afforability as garnish.

So why is it everytime I eat out salad is 6 to 7$? If you want a deluxe salad expect to dish out 8-10$+. These prices are Bay Area, California prices by the way. I wonder if this phenomenon is only local to us while the rest of the states eat fancy salad’s for $1.49. Anyway fast food places are the worst offenders – You can get an 89 cent cheeseburger and a 1$ fries but unless you’re buying a baby green salad with trans fatted hydrogenated oil dressing a decent salad will set you back 6$? GOD FORBID we have to make a choice with these options…. mmmm…. Cheeseburger and Fries (Mmmm) for 2$ or a healthy green salad (I am not a big fan of salads btw – most people don’t do them right – lettuce, parmesan cheese, and dressing is NOT a salad in my opinion [but I digress]) for 6$? And they wonder why America is getting fat. (maybe this phenomenon is non-local after all?)

So it seems the world has exacted a premium price for your health. In short the world has contradicted itself. The world says get more exercise! Go outside more! Eat more salads they’re good for you! YOU’RE NOT TRYING HARD ENOUGH!!! On the other hand we make salad’s 6$ and junk food 1$. What a trap. It’s a vicious cycle to make us feel bad about ourselves. Oh dear must get healthy but I don’t make enough money to buy anything but the value meal. Oh dear the value meal menu only has good tasting non healthy food. (It should be noted in the US anyway that the poorest are the ones becoming the most obese. I know that report exists – a link or links would be appreciated for citation purposes) Oh dear I just had another batch of unhealthy food and I loved it – and it was cheap! I have no choice but to give in to my desires again and again – the world set me up this way.

Don’t be afraid of who you are! (a whole ‘nother blog topic in itself) Given the choice most of us would pick junk food over healthy food – it tastes better. I’ve spent a year being a total health geek and freak and after the whole experience I’d still choose the gunk over the greens. It would be a lot easier for me to make the right choices if fancy salads full of living raw vegetables (not just lettuce) where put up for fair market prices. Or would it…

I have to admit that I think most problems like this are of our own creation. The only reason situations like these exist is because we want them to exist. America wants 1$ cheeseburger and fries and could give a rat’s behind about salad – therefore salad rises to 6$ to offset the stocking costs and the low customer demand. In my experience given a random sampling of most people the majority would pick junk food over a healthy green salad. Hell, they’d pick ANYTHING over the salad. Salad is punishment food for being fat. “I must suffer with this salad until I am thin. Oh how it tastes plain and undelectable! I hate myself!”. (salad almost seems like a gateway drug to wrist cutting if done in that mentality) That’s why I think salad is expensive. We want it to be – because we choose otherwise. And we cannot be afraid of that choice – we cannot call ourselves “BAD” people. WE MUST LOVE OURSELVES. I will choose wrong over right sometimes – and I will be proud of it. This is my experience, my journey and I will exact the consequences myself of my actions. If all that bad crap didn’t happen to me 3 years ago I think I’d still be the same wrong person today that I was back then. Maybe I am the same now – but I just realize what I am doing. Let me tell you though realization makes all the difference. The feeling of knowing you are not a victim – that your choices are YOURS – that the world is an exact consequence of you.

Let me wrap up with a huge quote…

“Our greatest fear is not that we are inadequate, but that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that frightens us. We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, handsome, talented, and fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We were born to make manifest the glory of God within us. It is not just in some; it is in everyone. And, as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

– Marianne Williamson

About this entry